WHAT IS THE TESTING PERIOD FOR CPC CAMPAIGNS

In order to evaluate the actual effectiveness of a campaign, it is necessary to send a certain amount of traffic to an offer and measure its early results. This is called a “Learning phase”.

The price of this testing period is based on the CPM pricing model. This means, that during the testing period, your campaign will be getting traffic according to the average CPM for the selected targeting. The testing period will end when:

  • impressions * eCPM price test budget

or

  • clicks * your CPC bid test budget

In both of these cases, you will pay for the testing period according to the first model: "impressions * eCPM price". It will be counted in your campaign balance.

Once the testing period is finished, your campaign will rotate on the campaign performance basis established during the testing period (established eCPM).

HOW TO LAUNCH THE TESTING PERIOD

If you want to test your campaign's effectiveness, start by setting up the campaign on the Campaign Creation page. Fill in the Settings, select your Targeting preferences, and Audience. When you get to the Pricing section, you will be able to set up the testing.

1. Start by setting up your Test Budget. This budget will be used to buy traffic for the evaluation of your campaign.

2. Fill in the rest of the necessary set up and launch your campaign to start the testing period.

Note: Testing period will resume after the campaign reactivation from the “Pause” status to "Active", or after significant changes that will lead to compliance approval.

3. Testing period ends when the test budget is over or if the overall cost of the received clicks is equal or is higher than (≥) the expenses of the tested traffic.

To sum up, during the testing period the campaign will receive traffic according to the selected targeting settings. The price is calculated using the CPM pricing model (pay per every impression). After the testing period ends, your campaign will continue receiving traffic based on the CPC pricing model (pay per each click).

TESTING PERIOD REACTIVATION

The testing period will be reactivated automatically after the following changes are made in the campaign:

  • A new country is added to the campaign targeting

  • New language is added to the campaign targeting

  • After compliance approval (status changes from Pending to Approved)

  • After resuming the campaign (status changes from Paused to Active)

  • The pricing model is changed to CPC (from CPM to CPC)

Note: After the testing period is activated you cannot turn it off. The testing period will run until the end of the testing budget.

Example 1:

  • Your testing budget: $15 (This means that your campaign will receive an amount of traffic worth $15 during the testing period.)

  • CPC bid: $0.5

  • The average cost of CPM traffic (according to your targeting): $0.03

Note: CPM = Cost Per Mile, or also known as Cost Per 1000 impressions.

Testing Case:

If the campaign has received 500,000 impressions and 20 clicks, then the testing period will be finished when the test budget is over on the CPM model (the campaign has received 500K impressions: $0.03 * 500,000 / 1,000 = $15).

Based on the CPC model, the campaign hasn’t reached its budget yet

($0.05 * 20 = $10). But, to end the testing period, it is enough to accomplish the testing budget just on one of the pricing models.

Example 2:

  • The same starting conditions - the testing budget: $15 (This means that your campaign will receive an amount of traffic worth $15 during the testing period.)

  • CPC bid: $0.5

  • The average cost of CPM traffic (according to your targeting): $0.03

Testing Case:

If the campaign has received 400,000 impressions and 30 clicks, then the testing period will be finished when the overall cost of the received clicks is equal, or higher than the expenses of the tested traffic (the campaign has received 30 clicks:

$0.5 * 30 = $15, so the testing budget has been reached on the CPC pricing model).

But from your campaign, we will deduct the amount spent on impressions:

$0.03 * 400 000 / 1 000 = $12.

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